Activism 101: Engaging with Politicians

Saturday, June 18, 2022
10–11:30am PT • 11am–12:30pm MT • noon–1:30pm CT • 1–2:30pm ET • 2–3:30pm AT • 2:30–4pm NT

Are you passionate about a social justice cause and activism but don’t know how to interact with politicians? Then this workshop is for you! As activists, part of our job is lobbying politicians to support our cause, but to some this may be a daunting process. Canada has three levels of government, and you may be unsure which level to reach out to.

The workshop will present a brief overview of each government’s jurisdiction to give you a better understanding of who to contact depending on your cause.  You will also receive tips on how to interact with politicians at the municipal, provincial, and federal government in the Canadian context.

Speaker Bio

Paige Mason (left) with Nahanni Fontaine (NDP MLA for St. Johns Manitoba)
Rally for Reproductive Justice, Manitoba Legislature, Oct 2, 2021

You can follow Paige on Instagram and Twitter.

Paige Mason is a fourth-year political science major at the University of Winnipeg in Manitoba. She has been a board member of the Abortion Rights Coalition of Canada since September 2020. She became interested in feminism and social justice advocacy as a teenager, which led her to pursue a degree in politics and become an activist for reproductive justice.

Paige has been involved with numerous feminist and human rights groups, such as representing her community in 2021 Daughters of the Vote, and volunteering with the Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties, Justice4BlackLivesWinnipeg, the Manitoba NDP, and recently Access MB, a grassroots organization advocating for no-cost contraception. She has experience interacting with elected officials at the municipal, provincial, and federal levels and has worked as an executive assistant to a Winnipeg city councillor. Through her years as a political science student, Paige has gained extensive knowledge of the Canadian political system and has taken a specific interest in the intertwining of politics and abortion rights.

Registration

Registration will close 24 hours before the workshop, on June 17 at 10am PT.