List of Anti-Choice MPs After October 2008 Election

By Joyce Arthur, Abortion Rights Coalition of Canada

November 15, 2008   *Last updated December 15, 2010*

The first table shows totals of MPs who are anti-choice (from each party), pro-choice, or unknown – with comparisons before and after the election.

The second, long table is a list of known anti-choice Members of Parliament after the October 2008 election.

Conservatives  •  Liberals  •  Independents

Please email if you have additional information or any corrections for this list. Thank you!

MPsBefore 2008 ElectionCurrent
Total Anti-choice MPs123 (40%)116 (38%)
– Conservative Party95 of 127 (75%)97 of 143 (68%)
– Liberal Party26 of 95 (27%)17 of 77 (22%)
– Independent22 of 2
Total Pro-Choice MPs125* (41%)123* (40%)
Total MPs with unknown stance56 (18%)66 (22%)
Total MPs304305

* This estimate includes Conservative and Liberal MPs with a public pro-choice position, as well as all Bloc Quebecois (47) and NDP (36) MPs on the assumption they are pro-choice.

In the table below,20 Conservative MPs have asterisks beside their name. These MPs voted in favour of Bill C-484 but have no other known public position on abortion, including no position on the Order of Canada award. It’s possible they are not anti-choice, so they are not included in the total figures above, but are included in the list below. (Please email if you have additional information.)

Members of Parliament
Designated Anti-Choice During
2004, 2006, or 2008 Federal Election (1)
Order of Canada
for Dr. M (2)
Voted for
Bill C-484 at Second Reading (3)
Conservative Party of Canada   
Jim Abbott
Diane Ablonczy
Harold Albrecht
Mike Allen
Dean Allison
Rona Ambrose 
Rob Anders
David L. Anderson
Keith Ashfield
John Baird * No response
Leon Benoit
James Bezan 
Jean-Pierre Blackburn * No response
Steven Blaney * Refused to say
Kelly Block
Garry Breitkreuz
Gordon Brown
Lois Brown
Patrick Brown 
Rod Bruinooge
Paul Calandra
Blaine Calkins 
Ron Cannan * Refused to say
Lawrence Cannon **   
Colin Carrie
Rick Casson
Michael Chong * No response
Tony Clement * No response
John Cummins
Patricia Davidson
Stockwell Day
Dean Del Mastro
Barry Devolin 
John Duncan
Rick Dykstra
Edward Fast 
Diane Finley * Refused to say
Jim FlahertyNo responseAbsent
Steven Fletcher * No response
Royal Galipeau
Cheryl Gallant
Peter Goldring
Gary Goodyear
Jacques Gourde * No response
Nina Grewal
Stephen Harper 
Richard Harris
Laurie Hawn 
Russ Hiebert
Jay HillNo response
Randy Hoback
Ed Holder
Brian JeanRefused to say
Randy Kamp
Gerald Keddy * No response
Jason Kenney
Ed Komarnicki
Daryl Kramp
Michael Lake 
Guy Lauzon
Denis Lebel * No response
Pierre Lemieux
Tom Lukiwski
James Lunney
Gary LunnRefused to say
Peter MacKay 
Dave MacKenzie * No response
Colin Mayes 
Phil McColeman
Cathy McLeod
Ted MenziesRefused to say
Rob MerrifieldRefused to say
Larry Miller 
James MooreNo response
Rob Moore
Rob Nicholson
Rick Norlock * No response
Deepak ObhraiNo response
Bev Oda * No response
Christian Paradis * No response
LaVar Payne
Daniel Petit * No response
Pierre Poilievre  
Joe Preston 
James Rajotte
Brent Rathgeber
Scott Reid  No response
Blake Richards
Lee Richardson  
Gerry Ritz  
Andrew Scheer  
Gary Schellenberger * Refused to say
Bev Shipley 
Joy Smith  
(paired, absent)
Kevin Sorenson  
Bruce Stanton 
Brian Storseth 
Chuck Strahl  
David Sweet
Greg Thompson  
David Tilson * No response
Vic Toews  
Bradley Trost  
Mervin Tweed 
Tim Uppal
David Van Kesteren
Peter Van Loan 
Maurice Vellacott 
Mike Wallace 
Mark Warawa
Christopher Warkentin 
Jeff Watson  
Rodney Weston
Alice Wong
Stephen Woodworth
Lynne Yelich  
Liberal Party   
Wayne EasterNay
Mark Eyking  Refused to sayAbsent
Judy Foote
Albina Guarnieri  
Jim Karygiannis 
Derek Lee 
Gurbax MalhiNo response
Lawrence MacAuley  
John McKay 
Dan McTeague  
Shawn Murphy
Massimo Pacetti 
Paul Szabo  
Alan Tonks  
Joe Volpe  Refused to sayAbsent
Bryon Wilfert Absent
Borys Wrzesnewskyi  
André Arthur 
 Helena Guergis * (Ind/Conservative)

No response

These 20 Conservative MPs voted in favour of Bill C-484 but have no other known public position on abortion, including no position on the Order of Canada award. It’s possible they are not anti-choice, so they are not included in the totals (top of page), but they are included in the above list. (Please email if you have additional information.)

** Conservative MP and Foreign Affaris Minister Lawrence Cannon claims to be pro-choice, but told the House of Commons foreign affairs committee on March 16, 2010, regarding Harper’s G8 initiative on maternal and child health, that “This [initiative] does not deal in any way, shape, or form with family planning. Indeed, the purpose of this is to be able to save lives.” Since all pro-choice people know that family planning is essential for saving countless lives of women and children, and since Mr. Cannon’s comment can only mean he is concerned about the lives of fetuses at the expense of women’s lives, Mr. Cannon is not pro-choice and we have added his name to the list of anti-choice MPs.

Column 1 — Anti-choice MPs were listed during the 2004, 2006, or 2008 election. Criteria: They had an anti-choice voting record, or had publicly spoken at or attended events organized by anti-choice groups, or had publicly stated they are “pro-life” or would support abortion only in limited circumstances. Note:  Conservative MP Gordon O’Connor has been removed from the 2006 anti-choice list for voting against Bill C-484 and supporting Dr. M’s Order of Canada.

Column 2 — Whether the MP publicly opposed the awarding of the Order of Canada to Dr. Henry Morgentaler, according to a survey conducted by Campaign Life Coalition.

Column 3 — Whether the MP voted in favour of Bill C-484 (“Unborn Victims of Crime Act”) at 2nd reading in Parliament on March 5, 2008. (Note: Some pro-choice MPs voted in favour of Bill C-484, including Peter Stoffer (NDP) and Liberal MP’s John Cannis, Sukh Dhaliwal, and Francis Scarpallegia.)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email